Cookaholics Bulletin Board

Cookaholics Bulletin Board

Shop, cook, eat, drink, post, repeat.

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 11:10 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: following instructions, or not...
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 11:50 am 

When I first was introduced to CI, I was fanatical about following their directions to a "T". I was a terrible cook and CI's thorough (if sometimes obscure) instructions were a blessing, as was the discussion in the articles that explained the pitfalls of the recipes they tried. However, as I got to be a better cook, I began to realize that some of the steps were probably not necessary, and began to gloss over them. Later, I quit reading the articles and just went straight to the recipe. Now, I basically look at the list of ingredients and skim the instructions, mostly in the interest of saving myself several bowls and pans. Does anyone else do this? And do you have any specific examples of unnecessary steps? I couldn't think of any offhand. Are there any other authors/publications that are even worse than CI in this regard?

Post subject: Re: following instructions, or not...
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 12:53 pm