Cookaholics Bulletin Board

Cookaholics Bulletin Board

Shop, cook, eat, drink, post, repeat.

It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 3:03 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: A Twilight Trip
PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2012 2:07 am 

I'm new to the San Jose area, been here less than a year. Before that I was in Ventura and Los Angeles counties (SoCal area). My handle is Tunaoue, it's a variant of my mother's Japanese family name of Tanoue or Tanouye. I'm a Fisherman, so the variant is Tunaoue.
But you can call me John.

Anyway, here's a fishing report of an attempt with friends to do a twilight (afternoon to evening) fishing trip last fall. It's somewhat painful but realistic outcome of more trips than most of us would care to admit. Bad day of fishing means at least you can laugh at yourself. ENJOY!

Last Friday I mentioned the albacore were still showing off Morro Bay and that maybe we should try towing the TROPHY up North to try our luck. Vic says he thinks since the yellowfin are still showing off the 14 mile bank, that we should try the Saturday afternoon bite until after sunset, then go in-shore to Catalina and go lobster diving.

YFT for the main course and lobster for dessert? I’m there! So we make tentative arraignments – Me, Dan and Vic agree to try and launch out of Cabrillo (22 street area) about 2:PM. Intent is to get out to the spots that others have already found and work the tuna for the afternoon to evening bite. So I figure Dan and I need to meet about 12-noon.

It almost worked out that way. Saturday morning; I run errands, and then call Dan; he says he can’t meet until 2:30. (Hmm, well, that’s okay – we’re goin’fishin’). We meet in the Sport Chalet parking lot in the SFV, head over to Vic’s; he has the boat hooked to his truck. All we have to do is get there and go!