Cookaholics Bulletin Board

Cookaholics Bulletin Board

Shop, cook, eat, drink, post, repeat.

It is currently Wed May 01, 2024 7:18 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Cooking software
PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:32 am 

Does anyone use cooking software, and if so what? I got LC, but it is really tough to use. The inventory part is just impossible, plus it came with lots of recipes with Campbell's soup. Any one got another recommendation and hopefully one that will sync with the Droid.

Post subject: Re: Cooking software
PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:26 pm 

Sorry, I've got LC, too. I did totally dump all the recipes that came with it, though.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:09 pm 

I'm also looking for new software. I know Alina swears by LC but I've been hesitant about getting it. I'm glad you posted about your experience K. I have an old version of Mastercook but if I upgrade my computer I'll need to find a replacement too, I'm afraid. I periodically back it up by saving in Word and storing on both the computer and my external hard drive. But there must be a better way!
Nance

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:50 pm 

I love LC.

I don't use the inventory - it looks like a LOT of work just to keep up with what I have in my fridge. Since there are only 2 of us and I am the only one cooking, it's not necessary. It's almost Rube Goldbergesque for me to use software to tell me I'm out of milk.

Like JesBelle, I dumped all of their cookbooks as soon as I got it. I removed a lot of their ingredients, as well. There are a lot of packaged foods I'm never going to use.

I'm not nearly as versed in it as Alina, but I do like the parts I use.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:16 pm